PEOPLE: HOLLIE

(french below)

Tell us a bit about yourself
Hi I’m Hollie! I’ve recently turned 19 and I live in Stafford in the UK. I live at home with my mum, dad and two younger brothers! I’m moving to Cardiff, Wales, in September to start university!

What are you up to at the moment?
I’m currently on a gap year between Alevels and University. I’ve just returned from a crazy 3 months of volunteering in Eastern Nepal where I met some amazing people and saw some extraordinary things! I’ve had 4 weeks at home before coming to France to intern for Bless for 2 months.

What are your 3 favorite things in the world?
My rabbit, Dugg, is at the top of that list. Our dog of 5 years has quickly been demoted from chief pet in the Stone house hold… Traveling has to be second on the list. I have a long list of countries and cities I want to visit. Thirdly has to be my little car which I purchased with my wages from my part time job and was able to recover thanks to a california lemon law attorney since at first I had problems with the purchase. Learning to drive in my mums bright sunshine yellow Fiat was an experience to say the least but me and my brothers appreciate the silver shade of my car and the school drop offs are much less embarrassing in comparison to those in the ‘lemon on wheels’!

Top 3 artists?
Florence & the machine. Arctic Monkeys. Paolo Nutini.

What is Bless for you?
Bless is the second part of my year out. As I’m moving to Cardiff University in September to do a French degree, Bless allows me to spend some time in France with a community which generally speaks both English and French (which is much less intimidating!) As well as attempting to improve my French, Bless enables me to meet new people and get involved with different voluntary projects.

____________________________________

Parle-nous un peu de toi…
Salut, je m’appelle Hollie ! Je viens d’avoir 19 ans et j’habite à Stafford, en Angleterre, avec ma mère, mon père et mes deux petits frères. Je vais bientôt déménager à Cardiff, au Pays de Galle, en Septembre pour rentrer à l’université !

Tu fais quoi en ce moment ?
J’ai pris une année sabbatique entre le bac et la fac. Je viens de rentrer de 3 mois de bénévolat au Népal où j’ai rencontré des gens incroyables et j’ai pu faire pleins de choses géniales ! J’ai ensuite eu 4 semaines de repos avant de venir ici pour un stage de 2 mois avec Bless.

Quelles sont tes trois choses préférées dans la vie ?
Mon lapin, Dugg, est le premier sur cette liste. Notre chien de 5 ans a rapidemment été retiré du poste d’animal de compagnie en chef dans la maison des Stone… Voyager arrive 2ème. J’ai une longue liste de pays et villes que je rêve de visiter. En 3ème, je dirais ma petite voiture que j’ai acheté avec mes économies.


3 artistes du moment ?

Florence & the machine. Arctic Monkeys. Paolo Nutini.

Bless, c’est quoi pour toi ?
Bless est la deuxième partie de mon année à l’étranger. Comme j’emmenage à Cardiff à la rentrée pour faire une licence de français, Bless me permet de passer du temps en France dans une communauté qui parle à la fois anglais et français (ce qui est un peu moins intimidant !). A côté de ça, Bless me permet de faire de nouvelles rencontres et m’investir dans différents projets.